Home About Treasure Troves Newsletter Books Workshops Column Karen Cole Site Map Links

 

Big Learning Resources

********

Just so You Know

Some of these sites have content that may not be appropriate for young children. Nothing radical, just references to adult subjects (such as discussions of violent wartime events), artistic nudity (on an art museum site, for example), etc. We have marked the ones we know about with an asterisk (*), but always check sites yourself before sharing them with your kids - you know best what is appropriate for your children. If you find truly offensive material on any of these sites, please notify us so that we can remove the link.

********

Cool Reference Sites

Math Forum's Math Tools: http://mathforum.org/mathtools

Calendopaedia: http://www.geocities.com/calendopaedia

Illion Numbers (the names for big numbers) http://members.aol.com/hedrondude/numbers.html

Did You Know: Intriguing facts and explanations: http://www.didyouknow.cd/facts.htm

Carol Hurst's Children's Literature Site: http://www.carolhurst.com/titles/featuredtitles.html

Kid-Lit.com children's book reviews: http://www.kid-lit.com/

Babel Fish Translation: http://world.altavista.com/tr

Phrase Finder: Meanings and Origins of Phrases, sayings, clichés and quotes: http://phrases.shu.ac.uk/meanings/index.html

* LookSmart Article Search: http://www.findarticles.com/cf_0/PI/index.jhtml

U.S. Department of Agriculture Nutrition Database: http://www.nal.usda.gov/fnic/cgi-bin/nut_search.pl

* Smithsonian Encyclopedia: http://www.si.edu/resource/faq/start.htm

* How Stuff Works: http://www.howstuffworks.com/

Scribbles Kids Art Site: http://www.scribbleskidsart.com

Artcyclopedia: http://www.artcyclopedia.com

ASL Browser: http://commtechlab.msu.edu/sites/aslweb/browser.htm

* Roadside America travel site: http://www.roadsideamerica.com/

Copper http://www.chemicool.com: Copper element at www.chemicool.com. Chemicool.com - copper and other periodic table element facts.

 

Family Learning, Homeschooling

Family First: http://www.familyfirst.com/

Teach at Home: http://www.teach-at-home.com/

The Lilting House: http://liltinghouse.clubmom.com/

Planet Science: http://www.planet-science.com/

Brain, Child: http://www.brainchildmag.com/

Pat Farenga: http://www.patfarenga.com/

 

Science Museum Sites

Exploratorium (San Francisco, CA): http://www.exploratorium.edu

Franklin Institute (Philadelphia, PA): http://sln.fi.edu

Smithsonian (Washington, DC): http://www.si.edu

 

Resisting high-stakes testing abuses

FairTest: http://www.fairtest.org

Susan Ohanian: http://www.susanohanian.org/

Alfie Kohn's standards and testing page: http://www.alfiekohn.org/standards/standards.htm

Research on Assessment and Accountability: Review by Robert L. Linn: http://www.aera.net/pubs/er/arts/29-02/linn01.htm

 

Big Learning in Schools

MadSci Ask-a-scientist: http://www.madsci.org/info.html

Service Learning Clearinghouse: http://www.servicelearning.org/

Project Feederwatch for teachers: http://birds.cornell.edu/schoolyard/

Middle School Math through Applications Project/Pathways: http://mmap.wested.org/pathways/

Little Kids Rock: http://www.littlekidsrock.org

 

D.C. Area Big Learning

The Signing Family: (www.signingfamily.com): Classes for teaching ASL to hearing babies and toddlers.

The Banjo Man (http://www.banjomanfc.com/): Folk and bluegrass music, great children's entertainment for parties and events.

Dr. Kay Abrams (http://www.kayabrams.com/): "Parenting with Confidence," Parenting Coffeehouse Workshops, family therapy.

 

Reciprocal and Sponsored Links

Free Newsletters from 123Greetings.com http://www.123greetings.com/newsletter/ Want a weekly dose of fun and joy ? Subscribe to the online email newsletters at 123Greetings.com ! This free weekly newsletter service is your one-stop fill for interesting updates on coming events, free ecards and exciting offers from our partners and sponsors. Just go get it and make your loved ones smile.

Toy Reviews http://www.thetoyreview.com Reviews different toys from over 50 popular brands with unique, detailed photographs of each toy.

Educational Toys
URL: http://www.educationaltoysplanet.com/
Description: A world of educational toys, games, crafts, puzzles from
leading american and european manufacturers to encourage the kid's
curiosity, discovery, and creativity.

http://www.museumtour.com Museum Tour offers a unique collection of award-winning educational toys and gifts
- all chosen to promote informal learning for all ages.

http://www.howtomakestuff.com

Fun Attic ( http://www.funattic.com/)

The SheKnows.com Network - Online resources and information for women

The Signing Family: (www.signingfamily.com):

Creative Kids Crafts (www.creativekidscrafts.com) - Providing arts and crafts kits and projects for preschool to elementary school age children. Our affordable subscriptions provide weekly crafts, coloring pages and stickers perfect for creative children.

The Great Idea Finder - Celebrating the Spirit of Innovation. Take a glimpse into the past with fascinating invention facts, inventor profiles, innovation timeline, history articles, trivia quiz and much more.

CreativeChildOnline.com - The magazine essential to helping parents nurture their child's Creativity.

4sitters.com Find a Babysitter, Nanny or Daycare by city: http://www.4sitters.com. Our family-orientated website offers an advanced online setting for Parents, Nannies, Babysitters, and Daycares to locate each other. We invite our visitors to perform a free detailed search. 

Globes - JustGlobes.com is the premier retailer of globes in the world. You'll find the widest selection of globes and other globe related products available anywhere.

Discovery Toys with Emily - Award winning educational toys, books, games, and software designed for infants, toddlers, and school aged children.

SelfGrowth.com http://www.selfgrowth.com : Guide to information about Self -Improvement, Personal Growth and Self Help.

Newsletter Directory: http://www.newsletter-directory.com

LinkPartners.com - http://linkpartners.com : Free directory of web sites who swap links with other web sites.

Presentation Helper
http://www.presentationhelper.co.uk
Presentation self help website.   Includes advice on job interview presentations, giving a speech, overcoming presentation nerves, and wedding speeches. 

All Links Directory

Go Ezines - Ezine Directory - Find ezines, ezine trades, ezine advertising, articles, tips and advice about ezines at the Ezine Directory.

Border State Band

Search Engine Submission and Internet Marketing

 

2003 Karen Cole Privacy Policy HomeAboutTreasure Troves Newsletter WorkshopsBooks Column Site Map Karen ColeLinks